Sunday, 30 August 2015

Front Country - UK dates in November

If you were to cast your eyes around the internet and read the album reviews for Front Country's 'Sake of the Sound' you would find that there is praise coming from every quarter. Sake of the Sound is receiving appreciative reviews from the Bluegrass, Country, Americana and Folk publications who recognise the strength of Front Country's debut release. For me, David Morris summed it up in his review in Bluegrass Today when he said 'Do yourself a favor. No matter what you think of jam bands, Americana and other genres that reside at the edges of traditional bluegrass or beyond, swallow your preconceptions and listen to four songs from Sake of the Sound the first full-length CD from Front Country. Just four songs. After that, my guess is many of you will want to hear more from this San Francisco-area sextet...'

From Sake of the Sound: 'Like A River'
 

'Sake of the Sound' opens with a rendition of 'Gospel Train' which sets the bar very high for the rest of the album and that standard is maintained throughout. For me, the only way to describe Melody Walker's voice is soulful in a way that I have not heard in  along time - three of the tracks are also written by Melody. It is easy to undertand why Front Country won the band contests at both RockyGrass and Telluride so it would be remiss not to mention the rest of Front Country who are: Adam Roszkiewicz (mandolin), Jacob Groopman (guitar, vocals), Jordan Klein (banjo, vocals), Leif Karlstrom (violin) and Zach Sharpe (bass).

After all of this you will be wanting to know where you can see them. Here are their UK tour dates:

Wed Nov 4: The Atkinson, Southport   
Thurs Nov 5: Centenary Centre, Peel, Isle of Man    
Fri Nov 6: Selby Town Hall    
Sat Nov 7: The Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal
Sun Nov 8: Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine
Tues Nov 10: Performing Arts Centre, Kilbarchan
                             Ticket info - call 01505 550 550
Wed Nov 11: Carnegie Hall, Dunfermline    
Thurs Nov 12: Birnam Arts Centre, Birnam, Dunkeld    
Fri Nov 13: Glenbuchat Hall, Aberdeenshire    
Sat Nov 14: The Universal Hall, Findhorn    
Sun Nov 15: Dundee Acoustic Music Club (afternoon)    
Tues Nov 17: The Harrison, Kings Cross, London    
Thurs Nov 19: Norwich Arts Centre    
Fri Nov 20: The Tuppeny Barn, Emsworth    
Sat Nov 21: Square & Compass, Worth Matravers    
Sun Nov 22: South Holland Centre, Spalding