Thursday, 14 August 2014

EBMA to receive IBMA Distinguished Achievement Award

The 2014 IBMA Award nominees were announced last night by Sam Bush and Jim Lauderdale at Music City Roots' new venue, The Factory in Franklin Tn.

photo by Sandra A Phillips
In addition to the nominations for the IBMA Awards, Craig Havighurst announced the recipients of this year's IBMA Distinguished Achievement Awards:
  • Deering Banjos
  • The Delmore Brothers
  • Hillbilly at Harvard
  • Bill Keith  ...and...
  • European Bluegrass Music Association (EBMA)
That's right, the European Bluegrass Music Association (EBMA) is being honoured by receiving a Distinguished Achievement Award.

The Distinguished Achievement Award is made to honour those who have "proven to be forerunners in their particular field of endeavor, and/or fostered bluegrass music's image with developments that will broaden the music's recognition and accessibility"

From the IBMA's press announcement "Since its inception in 1995, the European Bluegrass Music Association has worked to support bluegrass music across borders, both regional and national. The non-profit organization produces a magazine (Bluegrass Europe) for its members, promotes bluegrass festivals held throughout Europe, and holds regular gatherings, known as Bluegrass Summits, aimed at supporting and encouraging the burgeoning bluegrass scene across Europe."

The Award will be presented at a Special Awards Luncheon on Thursday, October 2 during IBMA’s World of Bluegrass event. 

Collecting the Award on behalf of the EBMA will be board members:
  • Angelika Torrie
  • Rienk Janssen
  • Chistopher Howard-Williams
  • Chis Keenan
  • Martino Coppo
Angelika and Rienk have both served on the EBMA Board since it's foundation.

If you are interested in becoming a member of the European Bluegrass Music Association then please visit the Membership page.