Sunday, 10 March 2013

EBMA Bluegrass Pioneers and Personalities Project: the first awards

During 2012 the EBMA Board set up the European Bluegrass Pioneers and Personalities Project (EBPP) to recognise and acknowledge the past and present most influential European musicians, promoters, journalists, DJs, luthiers, experts, and others who contributed, and still contribute, in a relevant and significant way to establish or popularise the bluegrass music genre in Europe, and to create a European bluegrass scene and community.

The EBMA Board formed a special Selecting Committee comprising Paolo Dettwiler, Eberhard Finke, Richard Hawkins, Lilly Pavlak, Christian Seguret, and Bruno Steffen, with Martino Coppo as non-voting chairman. The criteria for selecting European Bluegrass Pioneers & Personalities are:
· To be born in Europe or to have lived in European countries long enough to be considered European ‘naturalised citizens’;
· To be representative of the European bluegrass culture;
· To have inspired others to join the European bluegrass community;
· To have acted in harmony with the principles of the EBMA's mission statement;
· Pioneers: To have been among the first who had a significant impact on the popularisation of the bluegrass music genre in their own country or area in Europe, with special reference to their popularity and longevity in the bluegrass music community;
· Personalities: To have promoted or contributed to promote special projects or have reached special achievements during the last year.

Members of the selection committee and serving members of the EBMA board are ineligible for nomination.

The full list of Award recipients for 2013 is:
European Bluegrass Pioneers:
Mick Larie (FR)
The Greenhorns (CZ)
Pieter Groenveld (NL)
Pete Stanley (UK)
Arne Sørensen (DK)
Silvio Ferretti (IT)

European Bluegrass Personality 2012
Niall Toner (IE)

The Award ceremony will take place during the concert on Saturday 16 March as part of the 5th European Bluegrass Summit, which will be held at the Hotel Pyramida Auditorium in Prague.