Sunday, 20 May 2012

EWOB 2012 - winners and winners and winners

Angelika Torrie, EBMA board member, reports:

EWOB 2012 is past already. Here are some first highlights:

Welcome back Louvat Bros! (Louvat Bros live at EWOB; photo by Hans Kelderhuis)

The Louvat Bros won the Liz Meyer European Innovation of Bluegrass Music Award 2012 at the European World of Bluegrass Festival in Voorthuizen, the Netherlands. This award, which rewards the most innovative European band in bluegrass music, is given in memory of Liz Meyer, who always encouraged promising and creative musicians throughout her career.

Thanks to Dagfinn Pedersen who texted us results of the annual EWOB awards late at night:

European Bluegrass Band 2012:
#1 Goodwill (CZ)
#2 East-West (CZ)
#3 (ties) Jaywalkers (UK), Rawhide (BE), and Sunny Side (CZ)

Audience Popularity Award 2012:
#1 G-Runs 'n Roses (CZ)
#2 Sunny Side (CZ)
#3 The Old Time Hayride (GE/NL)

Pictures will follow as soon as we get some; please send yours as an attachment to, giving your name and e-mail address on top of the message. Thanks!