Sunday, 20 March 2011

Black Jake & the Carnies in Europe, 26 April-8 May 2011

Thanks to Joe Cooter, bass player with Black Jake & the Carnies (USA), for news of the band's first trip to Europe, beginning just over a month from now.

Black Jake & the Carnies, the 'Original Kings of Crabgrass' from Ypsilanti, Michigan, are a high-energy six-piece band using bluegrass instrumentation to deliver a mix of bluegrass, punk, ragtime, blues, Americana, and circus music, with strong emphasis on a vigorous stage show. They will be touring in Belgium, the Netherlands, and Germany from 26 April to 8 May in support of their second full-length record, Sundry mayhems, the follow-up to their critically acclaimed debut, Where the heather don't grow (2008). Sundry mayhems is scheduled for release in mid April, distributed by Sonic Rendezvous.

As with the recent tour by the Henhouse Prowlers (USA), the tour by Black Jake & the Carnies is set up by Surfing Airlines. The tour schedule is:

Thurs. 28 Apr. TBA
Fri. 29 Apr. Cafe Tielemans, Boekel (NL)
Sat. 30 Apr. Burgerweeshuis (first gig), Deventer (NL)
Sat. 30 Apr. Hoppin' Around Vorselaar (second show/pubcrawl), Vorselaar (B)
Sun. 1 May Prison, Turnhout (B) (first gig/inmates only)
Sun. 1 May Café Roskam (second show), Brussels (B)
Mon. 2 May Day off
Tues. 3 May Café Merlo, Brussels (B)
Wed. 4 May Café Honky Tonk, Brielle (NL)
Thurs. 5 May Bacchus Café, Geel (B)
Fri. 6 May Muziekcafe, Helmond (NL)
Sat. 7 May Zum Raabennest, Reichelsheim-Beienheim (D)
Sun. 8 May Ace Cafe, Rumst (B)

More information, press kit, band photo, etc., can be found on the band's tour page. Music samples can be heard on their ReverbNation site. All inquires can be made by e-mail.