Monday, 31 January 2011

The Country Pickers - now in the blogosphere

The Country Pickers (CH), back in action after a fifteen-year stand-down, now have an internet presence with their own Country Pickers blog, edited by Paolo Dettwiler - former chairperson of the European Bluegrass Network and EBMA, and now retiring from the editorship of Bluegrass Europe after thirteen years. The latest post on the Country Pickers' blog, published today, commemorates Bill Bohn (1930-2008) and Peter Gisin (1934-2010).

The band's present lineup consists of Tom Lochbrunner (guitar), Paolo 'Colonel Pablo' Dettwiler (mandolin), Casey Gasser (bass), Röbi Brunner (dobro), and Ruedi Gloor (banjo). Dates scheduled for the Country Pickers in 2011 will include the 12th Spring Bluegrass Festival Willisau at Alberswil (28 May) and the 13th Sunny Mountain Bluegrass Festival, Stettfurt (3 Sept.).