Sunday, 12 August 2007

EBMA looks to the future

The EBMA Board with guests (left to right): Dagfinn Pedersen, Rienk Janssen, Angelika Torrie, Paolo Dettwiler, Lilly Drumeva, Petr Brandejs, Michael Zumstein, Richard Hawkins, Jon Weisberger, Richard Hurst. Photo by Nancy Cardwell.

At the sixth EBMA General Membership Assembly on Thursday 17 May at the EWOB Festival, Voorthuizen, the Netherlands, the EBMA Board was re-elected for the next legal year of the association (1 July 2007-30 June 2008). The present chairman, Paolo Dettwiler, will resign in June 2008 to concentrate on other bluegrass-related projects. Two further Board members will be proposed in 2008 for election by EBMA active members. The association now has 355 paying members and an annual budget of around €8,000. A small surplus in 2006 will be set aside for future projects.

At the EBMA Open Meeting on Friday 18 May, reports from members throughout Europe showed a general impression that bluegrass is clearly on the rise, with several new festivals and growing attendance numbers. The presence of Nancy Cardwell and Jon Weisberger as official IBMA representatives underlined the importance of the tenth EWOB.

Also on Friday 18 May, the Board met to review its current projects and goals for the next year, and welcomed as guests Nancy Cardwell (IBMA), Jon Weisberger (IBMA), Dagfinn Pedersen (Norwegian Bluegrass Music Association), and Richard Hurst (Ulster American Folk Park). The EBMA will maintain a presence at IBMA World of Bluegrass, and will also continue to host the International Suite there. A new edition of EBMA's European Bluegrass Directory will appear in 2008.

The board will meet at the 16th Annual Appalachian & Bluegrass Music Festival at the Ulster American Folk Park, Northern Ireland, with an agenda including the development of Bluegrass Europe magazine and an increase of EBMA's youth activities.

Read more in the current issue of Bluegrass Europe.